Faith in Housing Blog

"Congregational Voices"

Reimagine Your Buildings by:Judy Seldin-Cohen and Reverend Dr. John Cleghorn
Read the Latest...

Faith In Housing: An Initiative for Congregations to Create Affordable Housing


More than 130 people joined us for "Faith In Housing: A Workshop For Congregations To Create Affordable Housing" at Mayfield Memorial Baptist Church. Six congregations presented their affordable housing initiatives. Other speakers provided frameworks for evaluating congregational resources, ideas for innovative architecture, and a vision for neighborhood collaboration, plus info about the housing bond referendum.

Ideas for Your Congregation from Faith in Housing Workshop



Image
Image


Non-Profit Agencies Using Private Funding for Affordable Housing

OrganizationContact NameEmail AddressPhone Number
A Way HomeCarol MorrisCmorris@fftc.org704-973-4550
Charlotte Family HousingLisa BradfordLBradford@charlottefamilyhousing.org980-289-2357
Community LinkHarold Ricehrice@communitylinknc.org704-943-9517
Housing PartnershipJulie Porterjporter@cmhp.org704-342-0933
Men's Shelter of CharlotteLiz Clasen-Kelly
Liz.Clasen-Kelly@MensShelterofCharlotte.org
704-216-4995
The RelativesErica Elliseellis@therelatives.org701-501-8243
Salvation Army Center of HopeDeronda Metz
Deronda.Metz@uss.salvationarmy.org
704-348-2560, ext 245
Supportive Housing CommunitiesLinda Millerlinda@aplacetoliveagain.org704-593-3051
Urban Ministry CenterAllison Winstonawinston@urbanministrycenter.org704-345-1316
West Side Land TrustCharis Blackmoncblackmon@westsideclt.org980-999-1342

Image
Image

Let's Discuss!

Comments

  1. Loved hearing about all the great things that are happening from supporting organizations to Covenant’s big plans to help fund apartments. Can’t wait to hear what other congregations will do after being inspired at Faith in Housing!

  2. A real community learning event. Thank you Greenspon Center for putting this together and Mayfield Memorial for hosting. It was inspiring to see such creativity and collaboration in addressing the affordable housing needs in Charlotte.

  3. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I
    find this matter to be actually something which I
    think I would never understand. It seems tooo complex aand
    extremely broad for me. I am looking fkrward for yokur next post,
    I will try to get the hang of it! https://foligrowxt.net/

  4. Join us for Faith In Housing II on Saturday, March 30, 11 am – 12:45 pm at Mosaic Village on the Johnson C. Smith University campus.
    We will share how congregations in our community are creating affordable housing, including a panel discussion and Q&A.
    A donation of $10 to cover the cost of box lunch is requested at the door, but not required.

    RSVP soon to TARNEYD@queens.edu — space is limited to the first 75 people!

Leave a Comment